Tags

, , , ,

Ah-shtay

I’ve noted that there is a tendency out there (for some people) to not admit they do not know the answer to something. No surprises there. Much worse, however, is the tendency of some poor sods who “feel” they have the right tonic for all that ails you. They’re certain, in fact. You didn’t give them all the symptoms, but they still know.

It must be such a burden.

In my wayward youth, I’ve slept amongst that ilk. I took great pride in knowing things. Lots of things. Even when I didn’t. I took the bit that I found appealing and became a convert to that “truth.” You simply cannot pour water into a glass that’s full. Alas, youth trumps wisdom in many circles. I was missing out on the most delicious of things.

But, just as there is no guarantee of a tomorrow, wisdom isn’t a free byproduct of age. You have to work for it. One of the tools in the wisdom box is, you guessed it, the query. Then there is skeptical query, which is a specialized tool. The caveat is, they don’t work themselves.

The question then becomes – “Do questions make us looks ignorant, or engaged?”

Asking question to stimulate free thought can be a tremendous benefit. It provokes. It lays the groundwork for abstract and innovative thinking. Many times, the question is more important than the answer. Don’t focus on the answers by themselves. The conclusion can change, depending of the flux of the environment. Ask better questions should be the mantra of the day.

I’m not getting all Don Quixote on the query quest, but I do believe that answers are sorta boring. Like finding the band-aid package when you cut your finger. Small problem. Small solutions. Reinvention by query is much more challenging and rewarding.

I often find the most intriguing avenues of thought are provoked by something quite unrelated to the task at hand. Think of the items you’ve misplaced in the past. You gave up trying to remember where you put things and went on to something else, only to recall its location while ordering a mango shake at some shop 4 hours later.

There are certainly a lot of reasons why queries are not being made. There is sometimes a cultural, hierarchal or timing component involved. I must insist that not knowing isn’t a bad thing. Not finding out is another thing entirely.

Embrace not knowing. You’ll never be lonely.

